Matt Roberts BigISH Band @ London Jazz Festival 2016 + More Orlando Julius and GDC Dates

October 20th, 2016

Matt Roberts BigISH Band London Jazz Festival 2016

It’s that time of year again, and my BigISH Band is returning with a 2-night run at The Spice of Life, Soho paying tribute to two of my favourite composers: Duke Ellington (MON 14th NOV) and Gil Evans (TUE 15th NOV). Click the links for tickets and let us know you’re coming on the Facebook event HERE.

Matt Roberts Orlando Julius Felabration Paradiso Amsterdam

I’ll also be doing a bunch of UK and European shows next month with Orlando Julius and Gentleman’s Dub Club. Details below…

November 4th – Hifi Club, Leeds (UK) w’ GDC

November 5th – Studio 24, Edinburg (UK) w’ GDC

November 10th – New Morning, Paris (France) w’ Orlando Julius

November 11th – Biko, Milan (Italy) w’ Orlando Julius

November 12th – Verona (Italy) w’ Orlando Julius

November 13th – Pisa Jazz Festival, Pisa (Italy) w’ Orlando Julius

November 17th - Les 4 écluses, Dunkerque (France) w’ GDC

November 18th – La Grange A Musique, Creil (France) w’ GDC

November 19th – Run Ar Puns, Chateaulin (France) w’ GDC

Hospitality in the Park + Felabration + More October Dates

September 20th, 2016

Matt Roberts

I’m delighted that I’ll be finishing out this year’s festival season with Hospital Records’ Hospitality In The Park festival in Finsbury Park, London with Gentleman’s Dub Club on Saturday. Set times for our stage below…

Hospitality In The Park

October 15th would have been the 78th birthday of Nigerian Afrobeat icon Fela Kuti. To celebrate I’ll be doing a short tour with Orlando Julius, Jungle By Night and Ronald Snijders. Dates/Venues as follows…

October 14th - De Roma, Antwerp (Belgium) w’ Orlando Julius

October 15th - Doornroosje, Nijmegen (Netherlands) w’ Orlando Julius

October 16th - Paradiso, Amsterdam (Netherlands) w’ Orlando Julius


There will also be a handful of Gentleman’s Dub Club UK shows next month, as well as a Matt Roberts Sextet show at Peterborough Jazz Club. Details as follows…

October 1st – Motion, Bristol w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club

October 8th – Esquires, Bedford w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club

October 9th – The Picturedrome, Northampton w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club

October 22nd – Engine Rooms, Southampton w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club

October 23rd – Peterborough Jazz Club w’ Matt Roberts Sextet

October 28th – Academy 1, Oxford w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club

October 29th – The Plug, Sheffield w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club

Rototom Sunsplash Live Video + Jazz @ HEART Summer School

August 19th, 2016

Gentleman's Dub Club at Rototom Sunsplash Main Stage

On Wednesday I had the pleasure of performing at the legendary Rototom Sunsplash in Benicassim, Spain with Gentleman’s Dub Club. The full set is available to watch in HD HERE or on YouTube below.

Next week I’ll be teaching on the annual Jazz @ HEART Summer School. The summer school is in it’s 6th year and promises to be as stimulating as ever.

Still a handful of festivals to go before the end of what’s been a cracking summer season…

Afro Banana Republic FestivalOutlook Festival 2016Illusive FestivalBoundary Brighton

Born In the 80′s Big Band Gig + GDC @ Summerjam Video + Nat Adderley Project at Hot Numbers, Cambridge

July 10th, 2016

I’ll be turning 30 years old next month and, to celebrate, my Big Band will be performing at the Spice of Life, Soho. The evening will be a celebration of pop culture music from the 1980′s and early 90′s. Expect chart topping BANGERS from the likes of Chaka Khan, Michael Jackson, Toto, The Human League, Sting and the Police and Seal. As well as an extensive selection of themes from your favourite films, TV shows and computer games. All arranged for a 17-piece Big Band comprised of some of the top young session musicians in London. Tickets available HERE.

Matt Roberts Big Band Born In The 80's

A HD video of Gentleman’s Dub Club‘s recent performance at Summerjam Festival in Cologne, Germany is now available to stream on the WDR website HERE. The low quality fan video below will give you a taste of what a great show it was…

This Friday my Nat Adderley project will be performing at Hot Numbers Coffee House in Cambridge. Entrance is FREE. Music 7:30-10:30pm.

Matt Roberts Sextet plays the music of Nat Adderley

GDC Live @ Fabric + Soul Education Live @ The Jazz Cafe + GDC and Orlando Festival Dates

June 1st, 2016

Fabric Live - Gentleman's Dub Club

This month sees Gentleman’s Dub Club host the main room at the legendary London nightclub Fabric. The night will feature some of our favourite artists and an exclusive live performance from us ahead of this year’s festival season. Tickets HERE.

Soul Education at The Jazz Cafe

I’m delighted to be joining the Soul Education All-Star Band (aka The White Keys) for their performance at the newly refurbished Jazz Cafe, Camden on Sunday 12th June. Buy you tickets HERE. Here’s a clip from our performance at Chelsea FC’s Under The Bridge last year…

Festival season is now underway. Here are just some of the dates I’ll be performing at with Gentleman’s Dub Club and Orlando Julius and the Heliocentrics

June 10th – Eden Festival, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

June 18th – Fete de la Musique, Belgium (w’ Orlando Julius)

June 24th – Glastonbury Festival, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

June 26th – Product Earth Expo, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

July 2nd – El Dorado Festival, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

July 3rd – Summerjam, Germany (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

July 10th – Townlands Carnival, Ireland (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

July 16th – Beatherder Festival, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

July 22nd – Nozstock Festival, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

July 29th – Taktraumfestival, Germany (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

July 30th – Augsburg Festival der Kulturen, Germany (w’ Orlando Julius)

August 5th - Ozora Festival, Hungary (w’ Orlando Julius)

August 6th - OFF Festival, Poland (w’ Orlando Julius)

August 7th – Soundwave Festival, Croatia (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

August 12th – Alive Festival, Denmark (Orlando Julius)

August 13th - Oya Festival, Norway (w’ Orlando Julius)

August 17th – Rototom Sunsplash, Spain (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

August 19th – Beautiful Days, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

August 20th - Afro Banana Republic Festival, Cyprus (w’ Orlando Julius)

September 2nd – Outlook Festival, Croatia (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

September 11th – Illusive Festival, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)

September 17th – Boundary Brighton, UK (w’ Gentleman’s Dub Club)